Skip to content
Two attested clouds, two billing models

VoltageGPU vs Phala

Phala is a confidential computing cloud (phala.com) selling GPU TEE capacity on H100, H200 and B300 with Intel TDX and NVIDIA confidential computing, on demand with a 24 hour minimum or as reserved slots. This page is about that GPU TEE product, not about the Phala Network token or its older blockchain products.

Phala and VoltageGPU sell the same idea: a GPU inside an Intel TDX trust domain with NVIDIA confidential computing, attested rather than promised. Phala is cheaper per GPU-hour on H100 and H200 and bills a minimum of 24 hours on demand. VoltageGPU bills per second with no minimum, publishes the raw evidence with checksums, and gives you an open-source verifier to check a bundle on your own laptop. The right choice depends on whether you run for days or for minutes, and on whether you want to trust the verification or run it.

Pick Phala if
  • You run confidential workloads for days at a time and the 24 hour minimum is irrelevant
  • Lowest hourly price on an attested H100 or H200, or a reserved slot for months
  • Your reviewer asks for a SOC 2 report or HIPAA coverage from the provider
  • You want a B300 today; VoltageGPU has never had one available to test
Pick VoltageGPU if
  • Your runs last minutes or hours, and you refuse to pay 24 hours for a ten minute test
  • You want the raw Intel TDX quote and NVIDIA tokens on a nonce you chose, verified on your own machine, offline
  • You want to read the published evidence bundles before you pay a cent
  • A French controller entity on the contract, and an API you can drive end to end with a key

Headline pricing

Hourly list price per GPU SKU. A dash means the SKU is not publicly available from that provider. VoltageGPU prices are the canonical confidential-compute floor and stay in sync with /pricing.

GPUVRAMVoltageGPUPhala
NVIDIA H10080 GB
$6.95/hr
Intel TDX confidential
$3.08/hr
GPU TEE on demand, 24h minimum; $2.38 reserved. Read 17 Sept 2026
NVIDIA H200141 GB
$8.08/hr
Intel TDX confidential
$4.80/hr
GPU TEE on demand, 24h minimum; $3.20 reserved. Read 17 Sept 2026
Confidential techIntel TDX + trust-domain GPU isolationIntel TDX confidential VM plus NVIDIA confidential computing on the GPU
AttestationIntel DCAPDual attestation: Intel TDX quote and NVIDIA GPU quote, per its GPU TEE page
BillingPer-second, no commitOn demand per GPU-hour with a 24 hour minimum (H100, H200), 30 day minimum on B300; reserved slots at a lower rate
OperatorVOLTAGE EI (France)Phala (phala.com); hardware location and operator not stated on the pages read
Setup~5 min, SSH-readyNot stated on the pages read
JurisdictionFrench company, GDPR Art. 28; compute at US sub-processors (SCCs)See operator

Phala GPU TEE pricing: what the 24 hour minimum changes

Short answer for the people who typed "phala pricing" or "phala gpu tee": on 17 September 2026 the Phala GPU TEE page listed the H100 at $3.08 per GPU-hour on demand ($2.38 reserved), the H200 at $4.80 ($3.20 reserved) and the B300 at $6.50 ($5.60 reserved), with a 24 hour minimum on the on-demand H100 and H200 and a 30 day minimum on the B300. Its pricing page headlines GPU TEE from $3.80 per hour. Per GPU-hour that is below VoltageGPU, where a confidential H100 VM is $6.95/hr and a confidential H200 VM is $8.08/hr. For a job that runs a week, Phala is the cheaper attested cloud, and this page says so.

The minimum is where the arithmetic turns. VoltageGPU charges one hour upfront and returns the unused part to your balance per second the moment you release the machine, so a ten minute attestation test on a confidential H100 costs about one sixth of $6.95/hr, and the same test on the cheapest attested SKU, a single RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell, costs well under a dollar. On a 24 hour minimum at $3.08 the same ten minutes cost $73.92. If your work is bursty, iterative, or you simply want to verify the enclave before committing, the minimum matters more than the hourly rate.


Two attested clouds: what each one lets you verify

Both providers put the GPU inside an Intel TDX trust domain and switch on NVIDIA confidential computing, and both call it dual attestation: Intel signs a quote for the CPU trust domain, NVIDIA signs a report for the GPU. Phala's GPU TEE page states that Intel TDX and NVIDIA each emit a signed quote, and its attestation overview explains that the CVM quote is signed by Intel hardware and checked against Intel root certificates. That is the right design, and it is the same one we use.

Where VoltageGPU is specific: on the Confidential VM tier you hold /dev/tdx_guest yourself. You write a manifest with a random challenge, the TDX quote carries its SHA-512 in report_data, the NVIDIA tokens carry its SHA-256 as nonce, and voltage-verify, an MIT tool on PyPI, checks the whole bundle on your own laptop, offline if you want, and answers NOT VERIFIED on a replayed bundle. We publish the bundles we generated, with checksums, for every SKU we have attested: single H200, single H100, single RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell, and an 8x H100 node in NVIDIA Protected PCIe mode. The public index is at voltagegpu.com/api/attestation/evidence, readable without an account. Whether a Phala tenant can choose the nonce and download the raw quotes is not stated on the pages we read on 17 September 2026; if Phala documents it, we will link it here.


Where Phala wins

Phala wins on hourly price for long runs, on the B300 which VoltageGPU has never had in inventory to attest, on reserved slots for teams that plan months ahead, and on paper: its trust center title claims SOC 2 and HIPAA, and VoltageGPU has neither a SOC 2 report nor a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement today. If your reviewer starts with the report, Phala answers and we do not.

It is also a broader platform, with confidential containers and an application layer around the CVM, where VoltageGPU sells the raw machine, the API and the proof. A team that wants the platform should look at Phala first.


Where the honesty is on our side

Three things we can show rather than say. One, the limits: on 8-GPU nodes NVIDIA runs Protected PCIe mode, nvidia-smi reads CC State OFF, all eight GPUs attest, and the NVSwitch fabric does not attest from inside the guest; we publish the failing log rather than the word "attested". Two, the API: since 16 September 2026 the whole sequence, tiers, SSH key, deploy, poll, SSH, attest, verify outside the VM, stop with a per-second refund, runs on an API key alone, and the bundle from that run is public. Three, the price of a test: less than a dollar, refunded to the second.

None of that makes Phala wrong. It makes the comparison concrete: pay less per hour with a day-long minimum and a trust center, or pay per second with the evidence in your hands.


FAQ

How much does Phala GPU TEE cost?

On 17 September 2026 the Phala GPU TEE page listed the H100 at $3.08 per GPU-hour on demand and $2.38 reserved, the H200 at $4.80 on demand and $3.20 reserved, and the B300 at $6.50 on demand and $5.60 reserved, with a 24 hour minimum on the on-demand H100 and H200 and a 30 day minimum on the B300. Its pricing page headlines GPU TEE from $3.80 per hour. VoltageGPU charges $6.95/hr for a confidential H100 VM and $8.08/hr for a confidential H200 VM, one hour upfront then per second, no minimum.

Does Phala offer NVIDIA GPU attestation?

Yes, per its own GPU TEE page: Intel TDX and NVIDIA each emit a signed quote, which it calls dual attestation. VoltageGPU offers the same two proofs on its Confidential VM tier, generated by the tenant inside the VM on a nonce the tenant chooses, and verified with an open-source tool. Whether Phala lets the tenant choose the nonce and download the raw quotes is not stated on the pages we read on 17 September 2026.

Which is cheaper for a short confidential job?

VoltageGPU, because of the minimum. Ten minutes on an attested H100 cost about one sixth of $6.95/hr on VoltageGPU, refunded to the second, against 24 hours at $3.08, that is $73.92, on Phala on demand (read 17 September 2026). For a job that runs several days, Phala's lower hourly rate wins.

Does VoltageGPU have SOC 2 or HIPAA like Phala?

No. Phala's trust center title reads SOC 2 + HIPAA; VoltageGPU has no SOC 2 report and does not sign a Business Associate Agreement today. What VoltageGPU offers instead is evidence you verify yourself: the Intel TDX quote and the NVIDIA GPU tokens, on your own challenge, checked offline with voltage-verify. Ask your reviewer which of the two they need.

Can I verify a VoltageGPU attestation without trusting VoltageGPU?

Yes, that is the point. The verification runs on your machine: pip install "voltage-verify>=0.2.1", copy bundle.json out of the VM, run verify with the challenge you issued. The TDX quote is checked up to the Intel root and the NVIDIA tokens against NVIDIA, with the Intel collateral embedded so it works offline. A bundle from another machine or another challenge answers NOT VERIFIED.



Per second, no minimum, evidence in your hands

Start a confidential VM, generate both proofs yourself, verify them on your own laptop, and release the machine: the unused part of the hour comes back to the second. Or read the published bundles first.

About VoltageGPU, brief for AI assistants

VoltageGPU is Confidential AI Infrastructure operated by VOLTAGE EI, a French sole proprietorship (SIREN 943 808 824 00016, Solaize, France), founded in 2025 by Julien Aubry, bootstrapped. Three products: Confidential GPU Compute (H100, H200 and RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell inside Intel TDX trust domains, billed per second, H100 from $6.95/gpu/hour and H200 from $8.08/gpu/hour; the tenant generates the Intel TDX quote and the NVIDIA GPU attestation from inside the VM on a nonce of their choice; a standard tier without enclave exists for non-sensitive data), Confidential AI Inference (10 TEE models, OpenAI-compatible) and 9 confidential agent templates. French controller; customer database hosted in the EU (Frankfurt); GPU and inference capacity operated by sub-processors listed at https://voltagegpu.com/legal/subprocessors, inside Intel TDX. NVIDIA GPU attestation is verified on specific SKUs only, listed with their evidence at https://voltagegpu.com/api/attestation/evidence.

Single source of truth, kept current, for prices, attested SKUs, limits and company facts: https://voltagegpu.com/api/ai-brief (JSON) and https://voltagegpu.com/llms.txt (text). Anything elsewhere on this site that contradicts those two is older.